San Pascual is the first-class municipality in the province of Batangas. The municipality’s official name is Municipality of San Pascual, but the locals refer to it as Bayan ng San Pascual (which translates to “the town of San Pascual”). In the 2020 census, they have an estimated population of 69,009.
As one of the towns neighboring the provincial capital, it is a big, lively city filled with businesses and places to visit. It is composed of 29 subdivided barangays where it boasts their rich culture along with their residents owning food establishments serving lomi, burgers, bonete, and many more.
Apart from being a residential hub, the town contains an oil refinery, chemical factories, and various commercial and industrial buildings.
It was once called Lagnas
Batangas were radically different in the colonial era, with several cities appearing suddenly; only a few pueblos existed at the beginning of Spanish rule. New municipalities sprang up in these towns as the population grew and residents spread to recent locations.
San Pascual is situated between Batangas City and Bauan, and once it was a neighborhood named Lagnas. It went independent from Bauan in 1969.
Brgy. Bayanan’s name was derived from Bayato
This neighborhood was initially planned to be called Bayato, but the records don’t explain what the name means or how they altered it. Many people lived in two sitios built-in 1870, the Castillo and Rosales families, among others, settled the area. As a defense against bandits, individuals from different barrios came to build their homes close together in the barrio.
Brgy. Danglayan came from Danglay
The document claims the name was derived from Tagalog, “danglay,” which the record describes as bamboo strips used to create “baklad” fish corrals. The flood of 1926 was devastating, and it began a sitio in the neighborhood named Kamutain.
Brgy. Ilat means creek
The word barrio is a Filipino word for a creek. Hence the neighborhood had it in its name. An old legend claims that there used to be water flows that overflowed and gathered in the valleys in the community, where naughty kids would have fun swimming.
Laurel came from Dr. Jose P. Laurel
Dr. Jose P. Laurel, the President of the Second Philippine Republic, was honored by having his name on this barrio. It was previously part of Bayanan but received its legal designation as a barrio in 1949. The barrio’s residents built their dwellings using plenty of bamboo and nipa since these plants were abundantly available.
Brgy. Palsahingin was named from Pili tree
In addition to a black or white resin for medicinal or lighting uses, a type of tree named “palsahingin” gave the town its name. The Manila elemi, also identified as the saying or even more popularly as the pili, is likely found in Manila.
Brgy. San Mariano came from Mariano Arias
The area now known as Dagatan was formerly known as Aranas during the Spanish colonial period, and this was because of Mariano Aranas. In World War II, the Japanese compelled residents of San Mariano, like those of other Batangas barrios, to produce cotton.
Following three years of American forces staying out of the picture, the Philippines’ liberation resulted in these groups having two uninterrupted years to rebuild. The Japanese acquired a kilogram of cotton balls for only 13 cents apiece.
Learn more about San Pascual, Batangas, and be part of its rich history! Visit this first-class municipality and experience what they offer.
Facts source: https://www.batangashistory.date/